Son Heung-min was not named in the English Premier League (EPL) Team of the Year shortlist.

EA Sports FIFA unveiled the candidates for the 2022-23 EPL Team of the Season-TOTS on its official website on the 18th (Korean time). The media is conducting a vote by selecting candidates for each position.

First, a total of 12 players were listed for the striker position. Harry Kane (23 goals), Mohamed Salah, and Marcus Rashford, including Erling Holland, who boasted explosive scoring power this season and scored 32 goals, were named. Also included is Kai Havertz. Fans questioned, “Who included Havertz?”

However, Son Heung-min could not be named. Son Heung-min has scored 8 goals and 4 assists in the EPL this season and is challenging double-digit scoring for 7 consecutive seasons. Although he suffered a slump at the beginning of the season, Son Heung-min is making a big success to the point of being ranked second in the team’s scoring rankings. Also, through the last match against Brighton, he reached the 100th goal in EPL career. 

12 midfielders were also selected. They included Rodrigo Bentancur, Bruno Guimaraes, Rodri, and Martin Odegaard. Kaoru Mitoma was also selected. Mitoma has been playing as an ace for Brighton this season, scoring 7 goals and 5 assists. However, it is controversial at the point that James Madison of Leicester City in the relegation zone is selected and there is no Bruno Fernandez or Thomas Party. 메이저사이트

For defense, 11 players were nominated. There are a total of eight center backs, two left fullbacks and one right fullback. Gabriel Martinelli, Lisandro Martinez, Cristian Romero, Ruben Dias, William Saliba and Thiago Silva were named, with Luke Shaw and Oleksandr Zinchenko at left-back and Kieran Trippier at right-back.

Fans also expressed dissatisfaction with the defensive candidate. In particular, many comments questioned the inclusion of Manchester City’s players. Nathan Ake, Manuel Akanji, and John Stones were not included in the nominations.

Finally, five players compete for the goalkeeper position. Including Alisson, they included Kepa Arizabalaga, Bernt Leno, Nick Pope and Aaron Ramsdale. However, goalkeeper David de Gea and Ederson, who showed 14 cleansts this season, are not included. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top